Denkyembour District Holds Heads Of Departments Meeting

Posted by Elvis Offei-Bekoe - 27th September, 2022

On Tuesday 27th September 2022, heads of departments of the Denkyembour District Assembly held their third quarter meeting for the year to discuss decisions taken by the general assembly meeting and also provide the opportunity for heads of departments to brief the house on their third quarter activity report.

The District Coordinating Director; Alhaji Shamrock Abdulai Gafaru, who stood in for the District Chief Executive as the chairman for the meeting, expressed his gratitude to all members for attending the meeting to discuss such important issues about the assembly. He mentioned in his opening remarks that all departments and schedule officers who would be tasked to undertake the activities outlined approved by the general assembly should do so diligently. He lastly mentioned the assembly is being faced with a lot of financial challenges which has slowed the progress of the assembly yet still the assembly were putting measures in place to raise enough IGF for the smooth running of the assembly.

The chairman for the meeting took the house through decisions taken from the just ended general assembly meeting. Majority of the decisions emanated from recommendations from the seven sub-committees of the assembly which was approved by the Executive Committee and General Assembly respectively. Some of the decisions include the relocation of No4 CHPS center, provision of containers for waste disposal, prosecution of an illegal operation of an orphanage, sensitization of chiefs and communities on local plans preparation, increment of all sitting allowances, construction of rice milling center for the district, provision of hermetic bags for grain storage and provision of streetlights in selected area of the district.

Heads of departments and units were given the opportunity to give a brief account of their respective activities for the third quarter and challenges they face in their line of duty. The departments and units present were the Fire Service, Police Service, Immigration Service, National Investigation Bureau, National Health Insurance, Agriculture, Works, NADMO, Education Service, Health Service, Community Water and Sanitation, Electricity Company, Birth and Death Registry, Environmental Health, Budget, Information, NCCE, Physical Planning, Stool Lands amongst others.